Wed. Nov 13th, 2019



Looking On The Bright Side of Diets

2 min read
What You Need To Know About Gluten Free Diet A gluten free diet involves not...

What You Need To Know About Gluten Free Diet A gluten free diet involves not ingesting grains and is advisable for people with gluten sensitivity and celiac disease. However, going gluten free is not for everyone – it could an unhealthy option for some. Thus, the advantages and risks of this diet should be weighed cautiously, especially if it not absolutely necessary for the person to restrict him or herself of gluten. What Actually Is Gluten?
What Research About Trends Can Teach You
Gluten is a protein which can be found in certain grains such as rye, barley and wheat. Gluten is what’s responsible for making bread products chewy and a bit elastic – quite an important ingredient to the making good baked products.
What Research About Trends Can Teach You
According to Mayo Clinic, gluten is the only protein found in food which is entirely indigestible – the molecules that makes it will only slip through the linings intestines causing inflammation to people with celiac disease. What You Should And Shouldn’t Eat Some of the naturally gluten-free grains you should include on your diet are buckwheat, corn, wild rice, brown rice, teff, amaranth, sorghum, quinoa, and amaranth. Oats are also gluten free by nature, but are often polluted with wheat at the mill or in the field – so before buying make sure it’s certified gluten-free especially if you’re someone who needs a gluten free diet. Other foods which are naturally gluten free and/or suggested by Mayo Clinic are fresh eggs, unmarinated, soy, breaded or batter coated meat poultry and fish, flax, tapioca, arrowroot, fruits and vegetables, most dairy products and unprocessed beans, nuts, and seeds. Mayo Clinic also suggests avoiding all food and beverage with barley, rye, wheat and triticale in it. Be extra careful as wheat flour also goes by various names such as kamut, farina, spelt, semolina, durum flour and graham flour. And unless these food are properly labeled gluten free, they should all be avoided: communion wafers, French fries, beer, breads, candies, cakes and pies, croutons, cereals, salad dressings, gravies, imitation meat or seafood, matzo, sauces including soy sauce, processed luncheon meats, pastas, soups and soup bases, vegetables in sauce, self-basting poultry, and seasoned snack foods such as potato and tortilla chips. More Tips From Mayo Clinic Be careful with cross contamination. This can happen during food production, so you should carefully read labels – such as ‘may also contain’ statements. Be picky as to which restaurant to eat out from. Ask the your server if they have gluten-free delicacies on the menu, also, try to find out if they are prepared in a manner which cross-contamination is highly unlikely. Going gluten free will help you if you are suffering from digestive problems, it can also boost your energy levels, mood, ability to focus, and can help you think clearly.

  • Partner links